Excerption from A Separate Peace by John Knowles

«(…) Here the road turned to the left and became dirt. It proceeded along the lower end of the playing fields swept away from me in slight frosty undulations which bespoke meanings upon meanings, levels of reality I had never suspected before, a kind of thronging and epic grandeur which my superficial eyes and cluttered mind had been blind to before. They unrolled away impervious to me as though I were a roaming ghost, not only tonight but always, as though I had ever played on them a hundred times, as though my feet had never touched them, as though my whole life at Devon had been a dream, or rather that everything at Devon, the playing fields, the gym, the water hole, and all the other buildings and all the people there were intensely real, wildly alive and totally meaningful, and I alone was a dream, a figment which had never really touched anything. I felt that I was not, never had been and never would be a living part of this overpoweringly solid and deeply meaningful world around me.»

Dette er noe jeg kaller vakker engelsk, og noe jeg kaller kunst.

Excerption from A Separate Peace by John Knowles

En kommentar om “Excerption from A Separate Peace by John Knowles

Legg igjen en kommentar

